Studying in Europe: Brexit, Scholarships and My Euro Trip

Here’s another way you can travel: study abroad.

Ten years ago, I flew from the Philippines to the UK for my Master’s as a recipient of an Erasmus Mundus scholarship. It was one of those coincidences that turned into an excellent opportunity to study and travel in another continent.

Being a Mundusian gave me the mobility to live and study in Europe, a journey I documented on my old blog. I visited six other European countries and lived in Denmark for six months as part of the exchange programme. In hindsight, I should have travelled more! Erasmus Mundus was also the pathway to many friendships with international students, the primary reason why I reluctantly signed up on Facebook.

After the EU referendum in the UK, I can’t help but feel disappointed. It is too simplistic to say that the British have turned their backs on cultural, academic and economic exchange because of immigration concerns, but that’s what it looks like to me. As early as now, researchers in the UK fear losing their EU funding. I hope that the upcoming changes will not prevent UK universities from joining Erasmus+.

That said, I’m marking my tenth year of Erasmus Mundus by opening up the Erasmus Mundus Forum because I saw the need for it. It truly boggles the mind that there has never been one before. I wish I had it when I was starting my Euro journey. Running the forum is my way of giving back and saying thank you to Europe for my postgraduate education and the priceless life experience that I amassed from that chapter of my life.

Are you thinking of studying in different European countries? Hope to see you at the forum!

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

